AFM Workshop

Advanced Financial Modeler

Financial Modeling Certifications ​

The FMI’s financial modeling certifications are internationally recognized credentials for advanced Microsoft Excel, financial analysis and financial modeling skills.

The FMI offers three levels of certification, gradually increasing in difficulty as candidates obtain each subsequent level:

  • Advanced Financial Modeler (AFM)
  • Chartered Financial Modeler (CFM)
  • Master Financial Modeler (MFM)

Three Levels of the Certification


This exam forms the foundation for subsequent certification levels and focuses on the skills required to design and build integrated financial models.


Earning the Level 2 Chartered Financial Modeler demonstrates an advanced and thorough understanding of Financial Modeling, Financial Analysis and Advanced Excel. Eligible candidates must have completed Level 1 AFM.


The Master Financial Modeler (MFM) is the highest level of accreditation that recognizes the Financial Modeling expertise of professionals who can perform complex forecasting, financial analysis and effectively translate business strategies into an analytical advantage.

Level I : Advanced Financial Modeler (AFM)

The Advanced Financial Modeler (AFM) is the first of three certification levels offered by the FMI. The AFM exam tests a candidate’s technical modeling ability through building an integrated three statement model over the course of four hours. Participants who pass the exam will achieve the Advanced Financial Modeler credential.

Why earn the AFM certification?

  • Skill Validation

    Demonstrate advanced financial modeling proficiency to employers

  • Personal Development

    Invest in certifications that are revered by the industry

  • Career Flexibility

    Obtain a globally relevant skillset that is respected across multiple lines of business